Departments » Safety and Security » Safety & Security Committee

Safety & Security Committee

In an effort to create a safe school climate and culture, and a collaborative environment around school safety, Comal ISD has established a District safety and security committee. This committee, made of up of district staff, campus staff, community partners, and parents provides advice and guidance to the district on many areas related to safety and security, including emergency planning, drills, training and safety assessments.


The 2018-2019 Comal ISD Safety and Security Committee members are:


District Staff


Andrew Kim


Joe McKenna

Safety and Security

Karen Stevens

Student Support

Walter Hutchison

Student Support

Corbee Wunderlich

Secondary Schools

Krista Moffatt

Elementary Schools

David Springer

Safety & Security

Board of Trustees


Jason York

Board of Trustees

Emergency Response


Mark Reynolds

Sheriff, Comal County

Sgt. Rick Cardenas

School Resource Officers

Gary Haecker

Chief, Bulverde PD

Kory Klabunde

Fire Marshal, Comal County

Nick Reininger

Juvenile Probation

Jeff Kelly

Emergency Mgmt.



Vivian Edens


Linda Morgan


Russell Garner




De’Ana Brock, MVES

Elem. Teacher

Orlando Dona, SVHS

Sec. Teacher

Jackie Sundt, Specht

Elem. Admin

R.J. Strauch, CHMS AP

Sec. Admin


The committee meets regularly throughout the school year and summer to review various topics related to school safety and security.