Ten First Lego League Teams Qualify for Regional Championship

Comal ISD hosted a First Lego League qualifying tournament last month with 29 student teams competing for a chance to advance to the regional championship.

The 10 advancing teams include Bill Brown Elementary Yoda, Church Hill Middle Panthers, Freiheit Elementary Mighty Eagles, Garden Ridge Elementary Super Charged Wolves, Hoffmann Lane Elementary Aqua Eels, Johnson Ranch Elementary Big Bag of Nuggets, JRES Immortal Electroknights, Kinder Ranch Elementary Fantastic Lego Leaders, Rahe Bulverde Elementary Lego GangandRebecca Creek Elementary Green Hawks.

Every year, First Lego League chooses a challenge based on a real-world issue, and this year teams are tasked with finding new ways to generate energy with the theme, SuperPowered.

As an essential resource, energy keeps everyone’s home and community running. Through this challenge students research how energy is generated, stored, distributed and consumed. Teams look at how much energy is available, the future of energy production and how it will be consumed. The goal is to ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.

Besides the 10 teams which advanced to the next tournament, several awards were given in various categories.

Team Coach/Mentor Award was given to coach David Gould from Mountain Valley Middle School.

The Champion’s Award celebrates a team that embodies the First Lego League experience. First place went to the GRES Super Charged Wolves coached by Julia Dziadul and Joan Medina. Second place went to KRES Fantastic Lego Leaders coached by Katie Gaston and Theresa Hicks.

The Core Values Award honors the team that displays extraordinary enthusiasm and spirit. First place was Indian Springs Elementary Code Crushers coached by Tina Flores, Wendy Sparks and Schuyler Talbert. Second place was GFES StrangerBots coached by Dana MacRoberts and Jenna Robinson.

The Innovation Project Award honors the team which uses diverse resources. First place was awarded to RCES Green Hawks coached by Michael Sandle and Stephanie Sutherland. Second place was awarded to RBES Lego Gang coached by Jamie Johnson and Shauna Leming.

The Robot Design Award honors the team which uses outstanding programming principles and solid engineering practices. First place winner is FES Mighty Eagles coached by Anita Estrada-Carrera and Hailee Shook. Second place winner is CHMS Panthers coached by Philip Konecki and Robert Jimenez.

The Robot Performance Award celebrates a team that scores the most points during the robot game. First place went to GRES Super Charged Wolves coached by Dziadul and Medina, and second place went to FES Mighty Eagles coached by Estrada-Carrera and Shook.

The Breakthrough Award is given to a team that made significant progress in its confidence and capability in both the robot game and innovation project. The winning team is MVMS Creative Chaos coached by Gould and Joseph Galvan.

The Motivate Award honors a team that embraces the culture of First Lego League through team building, team spirit and enthusiasm. The winner is ISES Circus Circuits coached by Flores, Sparks and Talbert.




-Bill Brown Elementary Yoda 

-Church Hill Middle Panthers

-Freheit Elementary Mighty Eagles

-Garden Ridge Elementary Super Charged Wolves

-Hoffmann Lane Elementary Aqua Eels

-Johnson Ranch Elementary Immortal Electroknights

-Kinder Ranch Elementary Fantastic Lego Leaders

-Rahe Bulverde Elementary Lego Gang

-Rebecca Creek Elementary Green Hawks

-Coach David Gould, Mountain Valley Middle School

-Indian Springs Elementary Code Crushers

-Goodwin Frazier Elementary StrangerBots

-Mountain Valley Middle Creative Chaos

-Indian Springs Elementary Circus Circuits



Read more Comal ISD news here.