Comal ISD District News

Local technology team wins SA Mayor’s Cyber Cup, headed back to compete in Washington D.C.
A local Alamo Academies' Information Technology and Security Academy (ITSA) CyberPatriot team was named the winner of the San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup on February 9. In March, the team will be heading to the CyberPatriot finals competition in Washington D.C. It is the second straight year a local Alamo Academies CyberPatriot team has won the Mayor’s Cyber Cup and will make the trip to compete in Washington D.C. The ITSA team is based out of the Central Texas Technology Center (CTTC) in New Braunfels, which is comprised of students from Comal ISD, New Braunfels ISD, Seguin ISD and Navarro ISD. This year’s winning ITSA team is made up of students from Canyon, New Braunfels and Seguin high schools. CyberPatriot is the premiere national high school cyber defense competition created by the Air Force Association to inspire high school students toward careers in cybersecurity or other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to our nation’s future. “This is the second year in a row a local ITSA team has received this honor, so we’re obviously extremely proud of what they’ve accomplished,” said Becky Walker, Comal ISD Director of Career and Technology Education. “The curriculum students are learning at the CTTC is setting a very high standard.” At the award ceremony held by the Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, Mayor Julian Castro presented each member of the ITSA winning team with a $1,000 Scholarship, a bomber leather jacket and a new iPad mini. Pictured is the winning team alongside Mayor Castro and Air Force Major General Suzanne Vautrinot are students (l-r) Cory Nichols (Seguin High School), Paul Hopson (Canyon High School), Kenny Graves (New Braunfels High School), Maggie Schmeltekopf (New Braunfels High School), Jason Mirch (Seguin High School) and Stephen La Rosa (Canyon High School).
No file associated with this post